2016 Award Winners

Congratulations to the award winners of the 2016 Reel Shorts Film Festival! These films were showcased in the Best of the Fest package presented by Big Country and Hansen Ford Lincoln. For a pdf of the 56-page program, click here. You can watch two of the award-winning films below! Jury members (from right to left…

2016 Schedule & Program

For a printable pdf of the Schedule, click here. For a pdf of the 56-page program, click here. Fest passes can be purchased for $65 by contacting GPLT (Grande Prairie Live Theatre). Info on all the packages and films will be available on the website soon.

It’s been a busy year for the Fest’s programming team. After watching 4,300 submissions from 120 countries and considering another 500 films, we had over 4,800 films to choose from. We selected 83 films from 27 countries including one feature film from Vancouver. There were 18 members of the programming team diligently watching films in Victoria, Edmonton, Fairview, Valleyview, and Grande Prairie. Programming the fest was a team effort and we hope that you enjoy the films that we found for you!

This is our third year as a competitive film festival and we are thrilled to have as jury members Scott Belyea, Mark Sawers, and Andrew Scholotiuk who will decide the juried award winners and participate on the Filmmaker Insights Day panels on Saturday. A special treat for fest audiences this year is that we have a feature film in the fest – No Men Beyond This Point written and directed by Mark Sawers.

Writer/Producer/Director Lucas Martell (THE OCEANMAKER in the Big Dreams package) will lead a workshop on the making of his award-winning animated film: Making Oceans – Behind the Scenes of “The OceanMaker”. He and Producer Christina Martell will participate on panels as well.

We are excited to be collaborating again with PRIMAA (Peace Region Independent Media Arts Society) on the Frantic48 Film Challenge and Filmmaker Insights Day. As a result of these and other initiatives over the years, we have four Peace Region films in the fest. They are in the Could Be Love package (SMOOTH MOVES – Writer/Directors Chris Beauchamp and Cris Seppola-Podsada), the Turning Point package (LEAVING SID – Writer/Director Monty Simo), and the Psycho Shorts package (LAZARUS – Producer Eric Durnford; and THE SOUVENIR – Writer/Directors Gordie Haakstad and Chris Beauchamp). One of these films will win the Best Peace Region Short Award at the Peace Region & Guest Encore package which will also include THE OCEANMAKER with Writer/Producer/Director Lucas Martell and Producer Christina Martell in attendance.

Hope you can join us as we celebrate Ten Short Years!

Oscar Shorts on Valentine’s Day!

On Sun, Feb 14, the Oscar Animated Shorts package of 9 films will screen at 3:00 pm and the Oscar Live Action Shorts package of 5 films will screen at 7:30 pm at Grande Prairie Live Theatre. See below to view the trailers for all 14 films and the wonderful poster designed by Photographer/Filmmaker Chris…