School Screening

2018 School Program

Six film packages for schools ($6/person) are available to book by emailing Terry at Homeschooling families and members of the public are welcome to attend – admission is $6/person at the door. The films in these packages have been evaluated by teachers on the programming team to ensure that they have ties to curriculum…

Oscar Shorts

Oscar Shorts on Sunday Feb 25

Test your Academy Award predicting abilities on Sunday, Feb 25 at the Oscar Shorts presented by Q99 and the Prairie Mall. Prizes valued at $662 to be won! See all ten Oscar nominated short films at GPLT (Grande Prairie Live Theatre) – the Oscar Animated Shorts at 3:00pm and the Oscar Live Action Shorts package…

The main collaborators behind Sophia, on set. Left to right: camera afficianado/producer Cam Belseth, writer/director Rory Mells, director of photography Chris Beauchamp. Photo by Laura Beauchamp.

Submit Sep 18 to Nov 30 for 2018 Fest

We are grateful to all the filmmakers and distributors who submitted their films to our 2017 festival: 5,074 submissions were received from 131 countries in addition to hundreds of other short films that were seen at other festivals or requested for consideration. See How do we evaluate films? to read about our evaluation process and…

Hen House F48 winners

2017 Award Winners

Congratulations to the award winners of the 2017 Reel Shorts Film Festival! These films were showcased in the Best of the Fest package presented by Big Country and Hansen Ford Lincoln. For a pdf of the 56-page program, click here. Jury members (left to right) Dylan Pearce from Edmonton, Gordie Haakstad from Edmonton, and Scott…

Cody Blue Snider workshop

Filmmaker Insights Symposium

Aspiring and emerging filmmakers can develop their skills in cinematic storytelling techniques and gain insight into the new frontier of virtual reality and transmedia during the Filmmaker Insights Symposium May 13-15 at the Ernie Radbourne Pavilion (see Locations). Presented in collaboration with PRIMAA (Peace Region Independent Media Arts Association), jury members and filmmakers share their…


2017 Jury Members

We are very pleased to announce the jury members who will determine the award winners for Best Live Action Under 15 Minutes, Best Live Action 15+ Minutes, Best Animated Short, and Best Documentary Short. Scott Belyea is a Vancouver filmmaker who grew up in Grande Prairie. In 2016, he directed HE LOVES YOU NOT, a…